April 15, 2008


ATTENDING:James Antes, Matt Bakke, Charlie Bridgeford, Judy DeMers, Ray Diez, Sue Jeno, Susan Nelson, Glenn Olsen, Donna Pearson, Betty Ralston, Lowell Schweigert, Bruce Smith, Brian Strom

Guest:Alice Brekke


Recorder:Bev Hopman


Ray Diez called the meeting to order at 4:31 p.m. in the Memorial Room of the Memorial Union.


Minutes:Sue Jeno moved the minutes from the March 18, 2008, meeting be approved as submitted.Jim Antes seconded. Motion carried.


Budget/Pro Forma:Alice Brekke, Assistant to the President and Director of the Budget Office, presented an update on the Pro Forma and the Athletics Department budget.Ms. Brekke indicated that the Pro Forma listed projected/budgeted amounts in one column and actual amounts in a second column.She stated that it is not a static document, but changes daily.Overall, the budget is on track for fiscal year 2007-08.


FAR Update:Sue Jeno said she and Betty Ralston will be attending WCHA and NCAA meetings in April and May.


Priority Registration: Betty Ralston said that as of the second day of priority registration, only 98 student-athletes had taken advantage of the opportunity to register early.Thatís about one third of the number that were eligible.Matt Bakke stated one of the problems may be prerequisites.If a student tries to register for a course that requires a prerequisite, even if the student is currently taking the prerequisite, the computer system will not allow them to register without getting an override for the course.Ray Diez said this is a campus-wide problem.Matt Bakke said he had to get three overrides before he could register this semester.He said he knew of other football players who had to get as many as 5 overrides.


Missed Class Time:Ray Diez will continue to work with Sue Jeno and Susan Nelson on a missed class time policy.Judy DeMers said the issue had been discussed at University Senate and was referred to the Senate Executive Committee.Sue Jeno stated one problem students were facing was when courses conduct tests outside of the standard class time.Students are often required to miss other classes to take the exams.Judy DeMers suggested this issue should be discussed with the college deans.


Athletic Director Search:Betty Ralston said the search committee has completed their work.The decision will be made by the president and vice president.President Kelly will be actively involved in the final selection.An announcement is expected within a few days.


Departmental Updates:

External:Betty Ralston reported that season ticket and Fighting Sioux Club renewals have been sent out.




Approval of Athletic Schedules:Schedules for menís and womenís swimming, womenís ice hockey, menís ice hockey, womenís basketball, volleyball and soccer had been sent out via e-mail to IAC members.Glenn Olsen moved to approve the schedules as submitted.Judy DeMers seconded.Motion carried.The IAC will meet in May to approve the balance of the sports schedules.


Letterwinners:Bev Hopman submitted a list of letterwinners as proposed by the head coaches in menís basketball, womenís ice hockey, menís swimming and womenís swimming.Susan Nelson moved to approve the letterwinners as recommended by their head coaches.Lowell Schweigert seconded.Motion carried.A list of letterwinners is attached.


Old Business:


New Business:The next meeting was scheduled for May 20, but several of the IAC members were not available on that date.The May meeting was rescheduled to May 14, at 4:30 p.m.†† Bev Hopman will contact members with the location.


The meeting adjourned at 5:31 p.m.




April 15, 2008


The following student-athletes were recommended as varsity letterwinners by their head coaches.


Basketball, Menís -Brian Jones, Head Coach

Benter, Derek†††††††††††††††††††††† Bledsoe, Travis†††††††† ††††††††††† Doyle Josh

Dumas, Denny†††††††††††††††††††† Harkins, Daniel††††††† ††††††††††† Harrison, O.J.

Hoy, Jimmy†††††††††††††† ††††††††††† Joseph, Darius†††††††† ††††††††††† Koenig, Tyler

Lehnertz, Benjamin††††††††††† ††††††††††† Little, Emmanuael†† ††††††††††† Porter, Wesley

Youmans, Ervin††††††


Hockey, Womenís Ė Brian Idalski, Head Coach

Cook, Andrea†††††††††††††††††††††† Edgar, Grace†††††††††††† ††††††††††† Flanagan, Cassandra

Fletcher, Kelsey†††††† ††††††††††† Hanson, Casie†††††††† ††††††††††† Hebert, Nikki

Holland, Jodi††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† Jaques, Melissa†††††† ††††††††††† Johnson, Alyssa

Kirkham, Brittany†††† ††††††††††† Lewis, Kelly†††††††††††††† ††††††††††† Lynch, Ashley

Motsko, Randi††††††††††††††††††††† Paulson, Ashley††††† ††††††††††† Roy, Stephanie

Sauer, Michelle††††††† ††††††††††† Sell, Emily†††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† Turner, Samantha

Williams, Alexandra


Swimming & Diving, Menís Ė Maviael Sampaio, Head Coach

Abraham, Garett†††††† ††††††††††† Anderson, Erik†††††††† ††††††††††† Baarlaer, Lucas

Bancroft, Chris†††††††† ††††††††††† Berrns, Nick††††††††††††† ††††††††††† Blankenship, Jeremy

Buhr, Anthony††††††††† ††††††††††† de Moraes, Daniel†† ††††††††††† Degenstein, John

Fillingham, Chase†† ††††††††††† Fitzgerald, John†††††† ††††††††††† Gerszewski, Jake

Hawley, Zach†††††††††††††††††††††† Hoenig, Michael†††††† ††††††††††† Knight, Eric

Pereira, Pedro††††††††††††††††††††† Rollins, Adam†††††††††† ††††††††††† Schrautemyer, Albert

Schulte, Joe††††††††††††† ††††††††††† Seaburg, Shaun††††† ††††††††††† Smith, Ben

Westergren, Per


Swimming & Diving, Womenís Ė Maviael Sampaio, Head Coach

Anvik, Caycee††††††††††††††††††††† Bachmeier, Steffany†††††††††† Busso, Natalia

Carlson, Jessica††††† ††††††††††† Caron, Chelsea††††††† ††††††††††† DeShaw, Cathryn

DiGregorio, Kathi†††† ††††††††††† Girard, Katie††††††††††††† ††††††††††† Digregorio, Michelle

Gormally, Carissa††† ††††††††††† Jamerson, Brittney††††††††††† Johnson, Jennifer

Kahnke, Jessica††††† ††††††††††† LaRoche, Kate†††††††† ††††††††††† Maxwell, Allison

McQuillan, Carly††††† ††††††††††† Nelson, Anneliesse ††††††††††† Nissen, Angela

Sanner, Kathryn††††† ††††††††††† Tande,Lindsey†††††††††††††††††††† Varichak, Stephenie

Wendroth, Kaylyn†††