December 12, 2006


ATTENDING:  Jim Antes, Charlie Bridgeford, Ron Brinkert, Tom Bunning, Richard Clay, Judy DeMers, Ray Diez, Cindy Flom-Meland, Susan Jeno, Donna Pearson, Betty Ralston, Mike Schepp, Lowell Schweigert, Brian Strom


Guests:  Bill Carr, Gerald O’Dell, Maviael Sampaio


Recorder:  Bev Hopman


Ray Diez called the meeting to order at 4:35 p.m. in the Memorial Room of the Memorial Union.    


Minutes:  Ron Brinkert moved the minutes from the November 28, 2006, meeting be approved.  Donna Pearson seconded.  Motion carried.


Reclassification:  Betty Ralston introduced Bill Carr and Gerald O’Dell from Carr and Associates.  Their firm is working with the University to develop a plan of action for the transition from Division II to Division I.  Bill Carr said both he and Gerald O’Dell have strong backgrounds in college athletics as former coaches and athletic directors.  They are currently reviewing the information compiled by the Reclassification Task Force.  Another on campus visit is planned for January with a goal of submitting a business plan for sustained success by March, 2007.  Mr. Carr stressed that reclassification is an institutional issue, not just an athletic issue. 


Bill Carr stated that the number of graduating seniors in North Dakota is shrinking by 2000 students each year.  IAC members were asked what other University policies or issues would affect Athletics.  Areas discussed were the decentralization of fund raising, with each campus unit having its own director of development; the capital campaign connected to UND’s 125th anniversary; major research; and an increase in the number of doctoral programs. 


Components of the business plan will be an environmental scan, strategy for DI membership, strategy for conference affiliations, scheduling and recruiting, organizational design, compliance, Title IX, financial business model, facilities and overall support services.  


Lowell Schweigert asked if any program cuts are planned.  Bill Carr answered that the plan of action is being developed under the assumption that all current programs will remain intact.  Dick Clay asked how specific the report would be, if it would predict actual costs.  Gerald O’Dell said it will define realistic expectations for each sport.  Jim Antes asked if the fact that some schools have stated they will not schedule UND because of the nickname will be addressed.  Bill Carr said the institution must respond to the realities of the nickname issue.  Dick Clay asked if UND could be provided with a list of other schools making the transition from DII to DI to assist with scheduling.  Bill Carr promised to deliver that information.


Departmental Updates:


Athletic Director:  Tom Buning distributed a hand out titled “Frequently Asked Questions” regarding the transition to Division I.  The hand out can be viewed at the following website: 


Sue Jeno was introduced as the new Faculty Athletic Representative. 


Contracts are either completed or near completion with the Alerus and Ticketmaster.  The new Athletic website supported by XoS is scheduled to be online in January, 2007. 


Budget:  Tom Buning reported that the budget is on target for FY07.  To help control budgets, restrictions have been placed on coaches’ purchasing procedures.  Athletic administrators are evaluating various improvements and budget controls for next year.  The renewal date for season tickets and Fighting Sioux Club membership will be earlier in 2007 to allow for an aggressive marketing campaign to sell vacant seats.  Unbudgeted expenses incurred to date include financial incentives to successful coaches and the overlapping salary expense that will occur in women’s hockey. 


Academic and Compliance:  Betty Ralston said there was nothing new to report.


New Business:


Letterwinners:  Bev Hopman submitted a list of recommended letterwinners for men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s golf, soccer and volleyball.  Judy DeMers moved the list of letterwinners as recommended by their head coaches be approved.  Lowell Schweigert seconded.  Motion carried.  A list of letterwinners is attached.


The meeting adjourned at 5:40 p.m.  The next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, January 23, at 4:30 p.m. 



The following student-athletes have been recommended as varsity letterwinners by their head coaches.



Men’s Cross Country – Mike Grandall, Head Coach

DeKrey, Lee                          Downs, Kyle                           Jones, Jeremy

LaBlanc, Josh                        Mahoney, Patrick                  Nordlund, Nathan

Rosseau, Kyle                       Spitsberg, Richie     


Women’s Cross Country – Dick Clay, Head Coach

Baker, Natika                        Benke, Lori                            Dehlheimer, Kristi

Duerre, Rachelle                   Gefroh, Mandy                       Hofland, Leslie

Keithley, Kristy                       Landberg, Margaret              Malone, Callie

Messer, Jessica                    Nordlund, Rachel                  


Men’s Golf – Rob Stiles, Head Coach

Ahmann, Kris             Corbett, Grant                        Peterson, Dan

Peterson, Jon                        Riewer, Blake                        Steiner, Dustin

Suess, Jerad                         Thompson, Carson


Women’s Golf – Dan Frei, Head Coach

Dahle, Kelli                            Gagnon Laplante, Alexia      Hoerth, Kayla

Lucken, Kristi             Lucken, Sarah                       Mattfeld, Kayla

Ruppert, Natalie                    Stirling, Laura                        Kaler, Amanda


Soccer – Brock Thompson, Head Coach

Boehmer, Mandi                   Boese, Kristi                          Brown, Kassi

Herrmann, Lauren                 Horner, Rose                         Houlihan, Meagan

Johnson, Amy                        Kirchoffner, Lindsay              Lindeman, Kevyn

Lund, Cassie                         Lund, Ericka                          Murphy, Shannon

Oxley, Janine             Pappas, Stacy                       Pederson, Erin

Remmenga, Holly                  Rohwer, Ashley                     Sera, Lauren

Strohbusch, Alyssa   Thaden, Sarah                                   Tracy, Megan

Traczyk, Lara


Volleyball – Katy Peterson, Head Coach

Blume, Mary                           Cahill, Aileen                         Delahanty, Nicole

Evans, Heidi                          Hanson, Britta                        Holmen, Ashley

Holmen, Tara             Hoy, Kristin                            Jones, Kendyll

Langseth, Megan                  Louwagie, Allison                  Kazociuniene, Kristina

Mason, Stephanie                 Vortherms, Lindsay